Massage Therapy in Canada

Massage therapy as a health care service, is within the jurisdication of the Provinces in Canada and not the Government of Canada.  As a result, there will be differences in the profession between the Provinces.

Massage therapy is a regulated health profession in only three Canadian provinces:

The professional standards among these jurisdictions is nearly although not completely consistent.  Efforts continue between these three jurisdication to ensure consistency in standards in particular to allow for portability of health professionals between the provinces.

In the other Canadian provinces, the profession of massage therapy is not regulated by each of the Provincial Governments; however, in each jurisdication, the Professional Association for Massage Therapists have established standards of practice that are based on those in the three regulated provinces.

In order to ensure that massage therapy treatments are being provided by individuals who are properly trained, ensure that your massage therapist is a member in good standing of one of the following organizations:

Massage Therapist Association of British Columbia

Massage Therapist Association of Alberta (MTAA)

Massage Therapist Association of Saskatchewan (MTAS)

Massage Therapy Association of Manitoba Inc. (MTAM)

Massage Therapists' Association of Nova Scotia (MTANS)

Prince Edward Island Massage Therapy Association (MTAPEI)

New Brunswick Massotherapy Association